OCGC kicks of its 2017 Junior Scholarship Programme with new slate of participants

PARADISE ISLAND, BAHAMAS (January 30th, 2017) Thirteen local young golf enthusiasts will take to the greens this year as part of the Junior Golf Scholarship Programme at Ocean Club Golf Course (OCGC). The youngsters – aged 9 – 17 years old – and their parents were hosted to an introductory meeting at the course Saturday during the third round of the Pure Silk-Bahamas LPGA Classic. OCGC General Manager Robbie Leming gave them a brief rundown of what their year would be like, along with the rules and regulations, while pro-golfers Brooke Pancake and Marissa Steen spoke to the kiddies and their parents about their careers and offered encouraging words for the year ahead.

The 13 were chosen out of some 32 applicants for the 2017 programme. That’s the highest number to date. Last year a total of 10 youngsters were selected from the 16 who applied. Participants are selected based on their character, integrity, passion and potential for success at a competitive level. In order to stay eligible for the scholarship and be allowed to participate in the programme, they must maintain a GPA of B or better. They must also always conduct themselves as professionals on and off the golf course.

The year-long programme is designed to promote junior golf skills as well as instill life skills that surround the game. The programme’s personalized sessions with Ocean Club Golf Academy instructors cover fundamentals of the full swing and all aspects of the short game, rules and etiquette, and on-course instruction. Participants of the Junior Scholarship Programme are also afforded complimentary “stand-by” playing privileges on the Ocean Club Golf Course and unlimited use of the 50,000 square feet Ocean Club Golf Course practice facilities. Each participant for the 2017 programme will be provided with a customized gift package from Ocean Club, Global Golf Management and Callaway Golf.

2017 Participants: Tyesha Tynes 11, Tynesha Tynes 16, Ashley Michel 14, Riya Miller 13, A’marie Smith 13, Caroline Von Echardstien 12, John Hall 17, Aharon Bastian 17, Alexander Knowles 9, Christoper Knowles 11, Rhan Miller 9, Jaden Ward 11 and Benjamin Knowles 12.